Research into double page spreads

I have previously researched into double page spreads and the layout of them in past briefs however I researched into 3 double page spreads that are new to me for this brief. They are all unique in their own ways using different techniques that I have found beneficial to me when trying to think of ideas for my own final designs.

  1. Ed Sheeran

ed-sheeran dps

The first double page spread I found that was interesting was Ed Sheeran’s promotional magazine saying “I’m Bringing Ginger Back!”. I really like this magazine due to the main image used on both pages. The use of one large image across the page of Ed and the London scenery is effective as it shows the reader the Artist and where the artist is from. The colour scheme used on this double page spread is mainly red, white and black, I feel as though this works well together as the red and white work off each other to grab the attention of the reader. Something that I like in this magazine is that the main bulk of text is slightly off centre of the page allowing the main image to be more open. I feel as though this technique will be beneficial for my environment double page spread as I want to have the photographs to be the main attraction.

2. Lily Allen

lily allen dps

This double page spread of Lily Allen has 1 main technique that I really like and would like to use in my double page spread. This technique is the use of one image which overlaps onto the second page slightly, this gives off the effect that the larger image has more importance and so the reader will look at the larger image first.

I also like the header of this double page spread however I feel as though this wouldn’t fit into my environment pages very well as this has more of a ‘punk/ gothic’ theme. The different sizing of letters goes against the generic rules of typography and kerning however it works well in this instance due to the theme that is running throughout this double page spread.

3. Wiz Khalifa

capture-fist-one1 dps

This magazine double page spread is simple, and very effective. The colour scheme is ‘black and yellow’ fits Wiz Khalif as he has made a song back in 2010 named ‘black & yellow’ – this is very clever. I really like the way in which this magazine is laid out as well, the use of one large image on one side of the magazine and on the other side there is the typography. I will use this technique in my double page spreads for the Crystal & Dungeness as it is a clean design.

The main bulk of typography on the second page is very well presented, probably by using the ‘justification’ tool in InDesign in order to make the text clear cut and easy to read. I will ensure to use the ‘justification’ tool in my work and to un-hyphenate my type as this makes it easy for the reader to read and also makes it more aesthetically pleasing.

 

Leave a Reply

