Design Process

The design process is by far my favourite part of the project as I am able to put everything I have planned and research into reality. In the creation of my double page spreads I used two editing programs, Adobe Photoshop (for colour correction & manipulation), and Adobe InDesign (for layout).

Crystal

I started off in photoshop with a photograph I took of the Crystal in London whereby the weather was pretty poor and the lighting was really low key. I decided to use my photo manipulation skills to change the aesthetics of the image. Below is the before and after image, please click on the images to enlarge them.

With this image used the magic wand tool in order to remove the sky from the original image (left) and used a photograph of a clear blue sky to overlay it. This instantly gave the image more ‘life’. After this I then change the brightness & contrast levels along with a photo filter in order to make the image seem more realistic which turned out to be very successful.

After manipulating the image I then put the file into InDesign and scaled/ cropped the image and placed the headline of ‘The Crystal’ which is sitting on top of the building. After this I then chose some photos that I took inside the Crystal of the exhibition and wrote an article about them. After reviewing my design I thought it looked incomplete as the second page (right) was a little bare, therefore I decided to put a low opacity faded image underneath in order to give the page some depth. The final outcome looked like so, which I am happy with.

Screen Shot 2017-05-17 at 11.36.16

Dungeness

My next double page spread was Dungeness which was my least favourite double page spread to design as Dungeness was such a quiet, dead, and boring location. I started off similar to the Crystal design and stuck with that theme, I had one main image of the left title page.

Screen Shot 2017-05-17 at 11.36.48

From this I then went straight to make the second page have an underlaying photograph to prevent the page from looking ‘bare’ which is a problem I had on the first double page spread for the Crystal.

Screen Shot 2017-05-17 at 11.37.08

These two photos I chose sums up Dungeness perfectly as this is pretty much exactly what you see at Dungeness – it is a Desert. From this step I then went on to choose 3 close up photos of Dungeness and write a little bit about them. I decided to change the layout of the text and images on this double page spread compare to the Crystal as the text was very difficult to read when laid out in the same way. The reason for this was because the image behind was a little on the dark side, however I am still pleased with the overall outcome of this double page spread.

Screen Shot 2017-05-17 at 11.37.14

My Environment 1

These two double page spreads where by far my favourite to design as I was able to be creative with my own ideas and things that I personally enjoy. After choosing and analysing the images I wanted to use in my double page spreads I wanted my main image to be large and stretch across two pages and fade out as shown below. I originally took the photos into photoshopped and colour corrected them first and then put them into InDesign.

Screen Shot 2017-05-17 at 11.37.38

The reason I used this image was due to a few factors, firstly the angle the photo was taken of the car. Secondly is the scenery behind the car, thirdly was due to the lighting and weather and finally was the location/ environment. From this I then added in my headline above the car in the ‘Pirelli’ font (Pirelli is a tyre company). The reason I chose to use the Pirelli font was because my target audience (automotive photographers/ automotive enthusiasts) would be familiar with the font.

Screen Shot 2017-05-17 at 11.37.54

I really liked the fact that the ‘F’ in Ford and Fiesta has a long line that goes across the entire word, this in my opinion is a nice effect. I then went on to implement my second photograph on this page which was a front facing photo of the car with its lights switched on as shown below.

Screen Shot 2017-05-17 at 11.38.00

The reason I chose this image is because it shows a juxtaposition between the two different environments of the countryside and an urban industrial estate. As well as the location the photo of the car looks menacing which fits will with the conventions of the location in a rundown industrial estate.

Screen Shot 2017-05-17 at 11.38.11

Finally I added in the text to the double page spread, the reason why I put the text on the right side of the page was because I didn’t want to ruin the large image as I wanted the audience to catch their eye from the main photo. I put two lines above and below each chunk of text in order to remove the ‘floaty-ness’ of the text. I put a gradient feather on the lines so they faded out, the smallest of things made the whole difference in my opinion.

My Environment 2

For my second double page spread I had to decide between two photos of which was better for the design. This was extremely difficult for me however I decided to choose the image in the countryside as it would be easier to read the text if it was in the sky. The main image I chose is shown below after it was scaled and cropped into InDesign.

Screen Shot 2017-05-17 at 11.38.39

From here I then used my research of quotes of the Ford Fiesta Zetec S and put those as the two headers on both sides of the pages. I felt as though this was essential as when promoting a car you need an un-biased opinion instead of just an opinion from the owner of the car.

Screen Shot 2017-05-17 at 11.38.55

I decided to change the colour of the “if only” quote as I felt it fitted the colour scheme of the car and also prevented confusion when reading if there were two quotation marks. I believe it’s a subtle change however works well due to the colour of the car. I then went on to write the article which was to be displayed on this double page spread with the images I chose and some of the text was unreadable as it overlapped the car as shown below.

Screen Shot 2017-05-17 at 11.39.05

In order to overcome this issue I used the pen tool to draw around the car and mad the pen tool a text wrap by selecting the text boxes and the car outline and pressing the ‘text wrap’ button. This button is found in the top right of InDesign.

Screen Shot 2017-05-17 at 11.39.25

This made the final outcome look as shown below.

Screen Shot 2017-05-17 at 11.39.12

This effect makes the text much more readable and gives it a unique effect which is sometimes used in double page spread designs. As well as the clipping mask around the car I also ensured that there was so hyphenation in my typography and also adjusted the justification slightly to the figures as shown below. This just makes the text slightly more stretched and makes the typography more aesthetic when looking from a far.

Screen Shot 2017-05-17 at 12.27.59

Overall I am happy with the double page spreads I have designed and produced and hope to design more in the near future.

 

Leave a Reply

