Process of Memorial Plaque

When starting the initial design for this section of the brief I wanted to have a strong background for the memorial plaque. I went into google and looked for brass background I then brought that into my Illustrator project and made the edges embossed – giving it a 3D feel as shown below.

Screen Shot 2017-06-01 at 11.59.02

In order to enhance the 3D feel, I then added a stroke as an overlay to it making it slightly darker making the edges more pronounced as shown below. I think this was a good idea the reason for this was because it shows a contrast between the main text of the plaque and the outline, and also giving the plaque more definition.

Screen Shot 2017-06-01 at 11.59.07

Finally, once I had designed my plaque I then brought in my text that I wanted displayed and chose a font that fitted nicely and represented me as a person. I wanted a nice “flowy” typeface as I am a calm, kind person.

Screen Shot 2017-06-01 at 11.59.17

The reason I kept the design clean and simplistic was because I am a calm, kind and simple person. I made the letter ‘A’ on the small paragraph larger than all of the other letters for a stylistic feature as it just adds to the aesthetics and easy-ness to read. Overall I am pleased with the final outcome as it is as I planned, simple, clean, readable and personal to me.

The reason I chose the colour black was to show that the text would be ‘engraved’ into the brass plaque it wouldn’t just be printed onto it. This will slow down the rate of erosion the plaque would potentially occur during poor weather conditions that we have in the U.K.

Here is the final image.

Memorial Plaque Conor Hall.png

Leave a Reply

