Design Processes

The key part to the design process of my 4 products was the logo itself, this is what took the longest time to work on as everything revolved around this due to the fact that the logo was the branding of Banksy. After Banksy was “rebranded” I could then use the logo to put into the compliment slip, letterhead and business cards, so it was all reliant upon the logo. The synergy between all products was very strong as well as I had to rebrand Banksy and remind the audience of the new branding of Banksy so that he is positively remembered.

Logo

When designing the logo I took a photograph of my sketches that I made on paper and put it straight into illustrator at a lowered opacity so I could have a rough idea of what shapes I needed to use and the rough dimensions of the logo.  I used different shapes such as a pentagon and change the points of the shape to convert the shape into an outline for the persons face.

I changed the effect of the outline for the face from a regular line to a jagged rough outline called ‘charcoal’ which is a default effect that is to use in Illustrator. The reason I used this effect was it gave the overall design some uniqueness instead of it being very flat and boring. I have shown the two comparisons above and the second definitely looks better and so I used this effect throughout to make the design even better.

From this I then went onto use circles to make the graffiti mask and also used the pen too to draw the mask lines. and mad the holes in the mask by using the charcoal effect as a white outline which gives it the ‘gas mark’ look which I felt was necessary.

After designing the gas mask I used two circles again to draw the eyes but moved the masking points of the circles down to create the ‘semi-circle’ evil eyes which I felt were fitting to the anonymity of the design. I used the letter ‘B’ which I sketched up for a logo name of ‘Banksy’ from earlier as the pupils of the eyes, again reinforcing the anonymity factor that Banksy is unknown. The ‘Banksy’ typography sketch is shown below.

Screen Shot 2017-10-15 at 00.11.29

After creating the main face of the logo I had to use my pen tool in order to trace around the hoodie sketch, which was proving difficult as the hoodie never really looked realistic as the waves were too jagged, however after lots of time, care and patients it all paid off in the end.

Screen Shot 2017-10-15 at 00.08.53

When I was looking at this design I originally thought it wasn’t going to work as the hoodie was quite jagged and looked a bit ‘sketchy-like’ which wasn’t the look I was going for as I wanted a clean-cut, professional looking logo finish. After looking at it for a while I left it a day or two and came back to review it thinking that if I were to add shading/ colour the it could bring out the design.

Screen Shot 2017-10-15 at 00.10.00

From adding some colour to the hoodie I instantly felt this gave the design something to work with and thought about shading of the character underneath the hoodie, from this I used the colour gradient effect in order to make artificial shadows on the characters face and neck. This gives the design a 3D feel to it also bringing the character to life. I personally felt this effect was so beneficial to the final design.

Screen Shot 2017-10-15 at 00.10.09

I then finally went on to add in paint splats around the background of the design along with the text at the bottom in order to reinforce the artists name in the logo so the audience do not forget him. The name of ‘Banksy’ at the bottom was necessary as the design could be about any graffitist… Below are 2 high quality images of the final outcomes of the logo which were used throughout the final products – one with the name ‘Banksy’ and one without.

Compliment Slip

I found the compliment slip one of the easiest out of the four products to design, even though at the beginning of this brief I had little to no knowledge of what a compliment slip was. After researching I had a strong understanding of the reasons behind a compliment slip and from this was able to design a strong compliment slip for Banksy.

Screen Shot 2017-10-15 at 10.57.57

I started off by putting Banksy’s logo into the blank canvas, resizing and repositioning it onto the left side so that the compliment slip reads from left to right with the readers eye. I chose to use the logo with Banksy’s name at the bottom to reinforce the name of the celebrity. I then added in the typography which included the address and the message and to split it up I added in a line in between the two parts of type which makes it aesthetic and also easier to read.

Screen Shot 2017-10-15 at 10.58.14

When I added in the line to split up the two parts of typography I changed the thickness of the line to thin out at either end which gives the line a ‘pencil’ effect as it makes it go from thin, to thick, to thin and this for me is a subtle difference, but makes a big impact.

Screen Shot 2017-10-15 at 10.58.23

I chose to use the font ‘SignPainter’ as it is an artsy font with lots of swirls and reminded me slightly of graffiti. It is legible which is the main choice in a typeface but also fits well with the celebrity that I am rebranding due to the celebrities background (artistic).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The final addition to the compliment slip was a large faded image in the background of the logo which looks like a watermark just adding to the professionalism/ validity of the compliment slip. I put the logo in the background and reduced the opacity to 5% which to me looks much better than a plain white background. It will also increase the synergy between the compliment slip and the letterhead as I used this in the letterhead as well. Below is a high quality image of the final design.

Compliment Slip3.png

Letterhead

First I made a blank white canvas with the international A4 measurements which is a default setting within Illustrator. From this I used my letterhead mockup thumbnails as a rough guideline, however when I was designing this I made a few variations of the letterhead as I couldn’t work out which worked the best. As you can see below I used the same technique as in the compliment slip with the line going from thin, to thick, to thin and I wrote in the address for the letterhead. This was one of my initial concepts for the letterhead however I felt as though the centre of the letter head was ’empty’ and needed something filling it in.

Screen Shot 2017-10-03 at 13.40.03

I then went on to make a few other variations which I will show below now. I used peer feedback in this situation as to which they all preferred which enabled me to successfully make the correct designers choice.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As you can see I made a few different variations to the logo and then typography at the top however my peers said that it looked too ‘busy’ and they much preferred the initial concept of the logo in the top right as it looks like a stamp. I decided to leave the middle of the letterhead empty as also from my research the letterheads were typically clean, professional and spacious – the reason for this is because letters are formal and so shouldn’t be overcrowded/ crammed in.

Screen Shot 2017-10-03 at 13.55.03

From designing the initial letter head I then added in placeholder text in order to have a rough idea of what the letterhead would look like in reality and I thought that it worked very well. Looks clean, professional and represents Banksy well. I added in the word ‘Banksy’ at the bottom with the font ‘SignPainter’ as it makes the letter look as though Banksy has signed it off. After this I then added in a large faded logo in the background of the letterhead to give off a watermark effect similar to the compliment slip. The reason I used the large logo at an angle in the background was because of previous experiences of reading letters from my primary school, they used to also use a very faded school logo in the background as a watermark, therefore we all knew that the letter was valid. Below is the final product in high quality.

Screen Shot 2017-10-15 at 11.31.55.png

Business Cards

When coming to designing the business cards I initially followed the sketch ideas but I felt as though the design needed to have synergy between the other 3 products, therefore the sketches were not fitting and so some adjustments were needed.

Screen Shot 2017-09-27 at 12.14.51

As you can see the typeface used for the letter B isn’t “SignPainter” and so there is no link between the products. In order to increase the amount of synergy between the products I chose to use the generic logo for the business card instead alongside the name of my celebrity ‘Banksy’.

Screen Shot 2017-10-15 at 17.51.59

I changed the concept of the front side for the business card as I, along with my peers felt as though this was more iconic and attracted the audiences eye more than a small back circle with negative space. I also made the edges curved as I didn’t want the business cards to be too generic and wanted to make them some what unique, the shape of them was slightly different which was made to be more comfortable when handling them. The reason they’re more comfortable is because the curved edge sits well in the curve between your thumb and index finger.

Screen Shot 2017-10-15 at 17.55.43.png

I then went onto design the back cover for the business card whereby I had an enlarged image of the logo at an angle over the majority of the page with some small empty white spacing to fill in with contact information.

Screen Shot 2017-10-15 at 17.57.37.png

I then used the graph as a ruler to ensure all the spacing between each address line/ contact information was equal (of which it was) and also made it all legible, short and to the point. Below are my 2 final high quality designs for the business cards.

Business Cards finale-01

Business Cards finale-02

Leave a Reply

